HIDE ME!

Online 1-2-1 Support

Do you ever feel like you would like a bit more support but aren't sure where to turn?

Not sure about coming along to a youth group yet and want to find out more?  

We have lots of ways that you can get in touch online and get support from youth workers. Wherever you are in Scotland, whatever your worry or concern, we are here to talk.

The LiveChat feature of our website is a fantastic way to chat with trained youth workers in real time about what’s on your mind. From questioning your sexual identity, coming out, relationship issues; bullying to sexual health – this is a private place designed for you to comfortably chat with an online youth worker.  


Next LiveChat sessions


October and November

  • Monday 03 October 6-8pm
  • Tuesday 04 October 6-8pm
  • Thursday 06 October 6-9pm
  • Friday 07 October 3-5pm

  • Monday 10 October 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 12 October 6-8pm
  • Thursday 13 October 6-8pm
  • Friday 14 October 3-5pm

  • Monday 17 October 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 19 October 6-8pm
  • Friday 21 October 3-5pm

  • Monday 24 October 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 25 October 6-8pm
  • Thursday 26 October 6-8pm
  • Friday 27 October 3-5pm

  • Monday 31 October 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 02 November 6-9pm
  • Thursday 03 November 6-9pm
  • Friday 04 November 3-5pm

  • Monday 07 November 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 09 November 6-9pm
  • Friday 11 November 3-5pm

  • Monday 14 November 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 16 November 6-9pm
  • Thursday 17 November 6-9pm
  • Friday 18 November 3-5pm

  • Monday 21 November 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 23 November 6-8pm
  • Thursday 24 November 6-8pm
  • Friday 25 November 3-5pm

  • Monday 28 November 6-8pm
  • Wednesday 30 November 6-9pm
  • Thursday 01 December 5-7pm
  • Friday 02 December 3-5pm


Maybe Live Chat isn’t for you?

Then here are a bunch of other ways to contact us:

  • Email: info@lgbtyouth.org.uk - please note that the email support service is open Monday-Friday. If you get in touch over the weekend we will get back to you during the week. Your response may not be immediate but we will always reply!
  • Facebookwww.facebook.com/lgbtys
  • Twitter: @LGBTYS
  • Instagram@LGBTYS

Who am I chatting to?

You will be chatting to a Digital Youth Worker from LGBT Youth Scotland.

What is a Digital Youth Worker?

Our Digital Youth Workers are adult volunteers who work solely on 1-2-1 LiveChat and answering e-mails (to info@lgbtyouth.org.uk) and texts (to 07786 202 370) . All chat sessions are overseen by a paid staff member, the Digital Youth Work Officer.

Is everything confidential?

Yes! Confidentiality at LGBT Youth Scotland means not telling anyone else what you have said unless it is necessary to share information for your protection or the protection of another young person. Chats with LGBT Youth Scotland Digital Youth Workers are confidential, which means that you can feel safe talking to us, knowing that no one else will find out. If you tell us something that makes us very worried for your safety, or that you may be in danger, then we will talk to you about whether other people need to know. Only in exceptional circumstances we might need to break this confidentiality if we believe that you or another young person is in immediate danger.

Do you keep records of our conversation?

Each time we have a chat with someone we keep a note of the conversation which is kept in a secure location. This is for a few reasons, the main one being that if you have spoken to us on LiveChat before we can read through the last conversation so we don't have to start from the beginning again each time we chat.  By taking part in chats you are agreeing to us saving this information.  We promise to keep this information safe and not share it with anyone unless someone really needs to know in exceptional circumstances.  We will destoy our records after 2 years.

How do I login to the LiveChat? 

  • Click on the LiveChat icon on the 'Chat now!' page or on the LGBT Youth Scotland homepage.
  • When LiveChat sessions are running the message below will say 'LiveChat online now' and when it is offline you can send us a message instead and we will get back to you as soon as we can (usually within 7 days of you emailing us).
  • In the Name box type in your name - if you would rather not use your real name, that’s ok too. 
  • In the Question box begin your conversation with a question, how you are feeling today, or just say “hi.” We’re here to talk about whatever is on your mind! 
  • Hit Send and begin your chat with someone from LGBT Youth Scotland.

Who do I contact if I have a complaint or concern with the service? 

We take all complaints or concerns about our work very seriously.  You can contact the Digital Youth Work Officer, Kira Weir, by emailing us here or by ringing the Edinburgh office on 0131 555 39 40.  Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us if you have any concerns.